Monotreme Records is a London UK based independent label with an eclectic roster of artists from around the world. The label was founded in 2012.

Follow us

Newsletter Subscribe

Albums /65daysofstatic to release ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’ in North America on Monotreme Records!
65 promo picture

65daysofstatic to release ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’ in North America on Monotreme Records!

Anyone who is even remotely familiar with Monotreme Records will likely already know how much we love 65daysofstatic. Individually, they are multi-talented in ways that most people could only ever dream of being. Collectively, they demonstrate just how much is possible when great minds come together and check their egos at the door.

Their last studio album, ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’, was released in April 2010 in Europe on Hassle Records to great critical acclaim. It was yet another bold departure from the previous albums: Whereas their music has always been a fusion of loud guitars, glitchy electronica and dance music, they have formulated the mixture in successively different ways, always bringing something new and exciting to the forefront.

Although the album was available digitally and as an import in North America, it has yet to be officially released, distributed and promoted there. We are therefore thrilled to announce that we have licensed the album for North America from Hassle Records, for release on 25 October. We’re not worthy, but we will work hard to help the album get the attention it deserves.

To celebrate the event, we will issue a special CD edition containing both ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’ AND a bonus CD of the 7-track ‘Heavy Sky’ EP. There will also be a deluxe vinyl edition on 180 gm vinyl in a choice of dark blue or white vinyl that also comes with a free CD of ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’, a digital download coupon for the ‘Heavy Sky’ EP and a poster. The album and ep will also be available digitally from our shop and all major digital retailers. More news on how to pre-order coming soon…

We Were Exploding Anyway cover

Catalog no.: Mono-58
Artist: 65daysofstatic
Title: We Were Exploding Anyway
Formats: double CD (with Heavy Sky EP), digital, 180 gm vinyl (dark blue or white vinyl – includes free album CD, digital download of Heavy Sky EP and poster)


1. Mountainhead
2. Crash Tactics
3. Dance Dance Dance
4. Piano Fights
5. Weak4
6. Come To Me (feat. guest vocalist Robert Smith of The Cure)
7. Go Complex
8. Debutante
9. Tiger Girl

Running time: 51:11

You can download, stream and share a free mp3 for the track ‘Crash Tactics’ from the SoundCloud player below:

Heavy Sky EP cover

Catalog no.: Mono-60
Artist: 65daysofstatic
Title: Heavy Sky EP
Formats: available as a digital download, as part of double CD set with ‘We Were Exploding Anyway’, and as part of deluxe 180 gm vinyl package of We Were Exploding Anyway (digital download coupon).


1. Tiger Girl (Wishful Thinking Edit)
2. Sawtooth Rising
3. Wrong Shape
4. Pacify
5. PX3
6. Beats Like A Helix
7. Guitar Cascades

Running Time: 33:29

The artwork was designed by the super-talented Caspar Newbolt of Version Industries, who also designed the brilliant artwork for Paul Wolinski’s forthcoming ‘Polinski’ debut, ‘Labyrinths’. You can read Caspar’s story of the concept behind the artwork here.

65daysofstatic on Twitter
65daysofstatic on Facebook

North American press: dave@usthemgroup.com

Here is some more information on the release, written by Mike Diver:

“65daysofstatic – the name still shrouded in inspirational ambiguity, the band still one of the most arresting live acts on the circuit – arrive at album four reborn. Following years of incessant touring, and three albums in as many years, a break in momentum has given them the breathing space necessary to revaluate their artistry, to focus on fresh ambitions and reach for them. From the underground, over; out of the basements and into the light: this is the Sheffield quartet as you’ve never heard them before.

The four – Joe Shrewsbury, Paul Wolinski, Rob Jones and Simon Wright – scored an unlikely hit in 2004 with their debut album, The Fall Of Math. A critical success, it launched the band into a new league of recognition; here, they would hone their sound, transforming from studio operatives crafting rave music for rockers into a rock band impossible not to rave to. Live, they excelled. Audiences swelled. Album two, 2005’s One Time For All Time, furthered their already enviable reputation. Audiences got larger still. In 2007 they released The Destruction Of Small Ideas – album three was supported not only by domestic treks up motorways and down A roads, but also by worldwide touring alongside The Cure. The ante had been upped. Those audiences…

Those audiences damn well exploded.

But then, silence. A pause. Stasis for the ‘static. Rediscovery of music that passed them by before – Daft Punk, house music, hedonism over IDM headaches – and a prolonged period of writing where new ideas could exert substantial pressure on the old. September 2008 signalled the beginning of the end for 65days as they were – where interviewers would ask after the pros and cons of being pigeonholed a post-rock band – and the dawn of something wholly unexpected, against type and beyond bold. Audacious, disregarding of former glories, We Were Exploding Anyway is 65days anew. This is not a rock band with a bit of glitch on the side, all guitars with the slightest semblance of high-BPM beat-craft as underlay; it’s a not-so-distant dance party, the purest euphoria as earworms that dig deep and nestle tight. It’s an arms-aloft salute to the thrill of letting yourself go in the tide, and riding that rush ‘til it leaves you breathless but so prepared to go around again.

This is lean, sleek, polished. Arrangements are taut, economical, with not a beat wasted. It’s peaks upon peaks ‘til all that’s left is a drop so massive that to dive is to confront certain destruction. But to step off is too exciting to deny: the fall an embrace to last a lifetime, the wind on your face the perfect kiss.

“We’re ready to go.” Follow their lead, again, and 65days will now take you where you never imagined they could. We Were Exploding Anyway is a game-changer from a band that has only ever followed its own rules, and now they’re broken. Don’t pick up the pieces. Leave them. Dance over them. This time, and for all time, and those audiences…

Those audiences were exploding anyway.”