Monotreme Records is a London UK based independent label with an eclectic roster of artists from around the world. The label was founded in 2012.

Follow us

Newsletter Subscribe

Albums /Niagara release 18-track remix album ‘Don’t Take It Personally Remixes’ on 18 December
Niagara - Remixes

Niagara release 18-track remix album ‘Don’t Take It Personally Remixes’ on 18 December

Turin-based experimental pop duo Niagara will be releasing a digital 18-track remix edition of their ‘Don’t Take It Personally’ album, titled ‘Don’t Take It Personally Remixes’ on the 18th of December.

The pair, comprised of musicians/producers David Tomat and Gabriele Ottino, released their second conceptual album in September 2014, injecting elements of electronic, psychedelic, Eastern and EDM into more standard structures of Western pop music. It has now been given the deluxe remix treatment it deserves, with trade-mark reworks from the likes of Gonjasufi, Fennesz, Liars and Acid Pauli. It’s an interesting blend of booming electronics, blissed out psychedelia and pastoral textures, a genre-bending collection of remixes that never fails to surprise and excite.

While Liars stick to their tried and tested hard and chaotic style, avant-garde master Christian Fennesz utilizes some of the furthest extremities of the remix genre, expanding on the aesthetic of the original and delivering a mesmerising work-out built on originality and authenticity. Warp darling Gonjasufi provides the perfect soundtrack for a journey through desolate landscapes and Acid Pauli a moody yet thoughtful approach, perhaps typical from a member of The Notwist.

Niagara will be back with their third full length album next year, pushing the boundaries of studio production once again.

‘Fennesz shakes up the original, breaking the track apart into glitching pieces only to spin those back into sonic gold’ FACT

‘Liars turn in a hard hitting rework, transforming the original into an altogether more dance floor focused piece in their typically chaotic style’ XLR8R

‘The tune is thoughtful, liberal with the bleep-bloopy, and overflowing with moody tones’ THUMP



1. Popeye (Niagara Remix)
2. Currybox (Acid Pauli Remix)
3. Bloom (Titta Remix)
4. John Barrett (Silvio Franco Remix)
5. Fat Kaos (Bienoise Remix)
6. Else (Liars Remix)
7. China Eclipse (Grand Pavilion Remix)
8. John Barrett (Yakamoto Kotzuga Remix)
9. Vanillacola (Fennesz Remix)
10. Popeye (Merchants Remix)
11. Currybox (Gonjasufi Remix)
12. Laes (Furtherset Remix)
13. Vanillacola (XIII Remix)
14. John Barrett (Sun Of The North Remix)
15. Currybox (Perdurabo Remix)
16. Bloom (Reigns Remix)
17. Else (Diego Perrone Remix)
18. Popeye (Eesla Remix)